Miles From Fenway


Running Home in the Rain
April 8, 2005, 5:20 pm
Filed under: misc., NYC

It started raining around 10 last night. I was standing on the top step outside of Grassroots on St. Marks smoking a cigarette while my friends huddled under the awning. With my face turned up towards the sky, and my arms outstretched, I felt like a kid again. It was the first true spring rain of the season. Warm, drenching, beautiful. People walking by on the streets, scurrying around under umbrella’s looked at my like I was crazy. But for a minute there the rain felt so great.

After all the concerts, the fights, the panic attack, the hurt feelings, the emotions I wasn’t sure what to do with, the rain felt fantastic. By the time I left the bar it was no longer raining, it was pouring. And by the time I got to the Pacific Street stop in Brooklyn it was downright monsooning. Not having an umbrella I ran the four blocks to my apartment. Right at my corner I took a running leap and landed in the middle of a puddle, drenching what portions of me were not dripping already.

Sometimes it takes some gritty New York City rain to wash off all the muck.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The day that you’re too old to jump in puddles is the day that you’re too old for life.

Comment by BlackJack

That’s a great story. Waiting for more. »

Comment by Anonymous

Cool blog, interesting information… Keep it UP »

Comment by Anonymous

Where did you find it? Interesting read »

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

