Miles From Fenway


Blogging From Barrington
October 10, 2005, 3:45 pm
Filed under: Rhode Island

Sometimes, there’s just nothing more necessary than a trip home. For a week and a half I’ve been wandering around, at work, in the apartment, even while out with friends, in a sort of pissed off daze. Nothing specific had happened (well that is until Friday when my Red Sox unceremoniously got swept out of the post season) I was just worn out. For a month and a half I had been pushing myself too hard. Too much drinking, too little sleep. Too much socializing, too little alone time.

I should have known a long time ago what I needed was to come home. Because in the span of three days, which included: a dinner with my aunt, uncle, grandfather, mom, dad, and brother; a shopping trip, a haircut, more food than you can even imagine and and all of Season 4 of the West Wing on DVD, I head back to New York, ten pounds heavier (thanks Mom) with a lot less hair (I’m still mad at you crazy stylist) and a lot less stressed out.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OOOhhhhh, what happened to your hair? I wanna see!!!

Least the Pats are back to winning ways.

Comment by WelshSoxFan

Ahh, those weekends are great. I used to call them restarting. Its like pushing reset and getting to play the game all over again, and i am sure they gave you some perspective. Hope the hair and you are doing great.

Comment by Ari

Glad to hear you’re feeling better. I want to see that haircut too!

Comment by Esther

There’s always next year, right? I’m sure it looks good on you Finy; the extra 10lbs. and the new do! My motto on haircuts is, “The only difference between a bad haircut and a good haircut is 2 weeks.”

Comment by Long Iron

Post-Season is a time of reflection & meditation.

You NEEDED that retreat, in order to recharge your batteries.

We all need to-it’s been a LONG season.

I hope that “The Nation” can retreat Downtown, for a bit of Cameraderie.

Will Tim McCarver, please get rid of The Hair Dye? He looks RIDICULOUS.

Comment by Michael Leggett

So NEEDING to see a photo of that haircut! Just cos I can’t laugh at you in person….

Comment by Anonymous

Come on FINY…come out with the hair cut…we all need to see the new do…

Comment by Itchy

As long as there are no more huge projects being dumped in her lap, I get to see Finy’s new do tonight :-)!

Comment by Esther

What a great site » » »

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

