Miles From Fenway


Our Butchering of the English Language Always Amazes Me
October 20, 2005, 6:02 pm
Filed under: misc.

What makes it worse is when it comes from the leader of our country.

President Bush made the following statement about Hurricane Wilma (from cnn):

“We got a job to make sure this hurricane headed toward Florida — the federal response — is prepared for it.”

There are so many things wrong with that sentence I can’t even begin. The editor in my brain just had a stroke.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That statement is actually made by a Yale Graduate. Astonishing, isn’t it?

Comment by Michael Leggett

Michael, I’m sorry if this sounds mean, but you’re joking with the first sentence, right?

Comment by FINY

I’m constantly amazed by things that comes out of that man’s mouth…I can’t believe his “handlers” allow him to speak live at all…

Comment by Itchy

[looks at everyone who voted him in]

Say you’re sorry, people.

Comment by Macca

ummmmm … haven’t I been saying this to you for the past 9 months?

Comment by WelshSoxFan

WSF: Are you refering to how dumb our President is or our butchering of the english language, because I’ve got a comeback for both … 🙂

Comment by FINY

i’m sure Yale is proud, just as all Americans are. we have the most smertest President evah!

funny, though… I put some Bush quotes up this morning, too (but they’re old).

Comment by mikey

I had seen those, Mikey. Yours were definitely funnier, I just happened to be reading through the cnn article and literally, my brain almost exploded when I saw this sentence. Because you know 90% of the people out there read straight through and never noticed something was wrong. ARG!

Comment by FINY

you know I meant both

Comment by WelshSoxFan

Such a loser.

Comment by Meegan

Oh My God. And I thought some of the other things I see around are bad. Sadly, yes George W did go to Yale. He was a straight C student throughout.

Comment by Esther

FiNY? I kid you NOT!

Comment by Michael Leggett

The grammatical mistakes, made up words, complete and utter lack of public speaking ability; yeah I’m embarrassed by our president. But it’s the lies that really get to me.

Comment by BlackJack

Bush’s linguistic incompetence, comes from watching too many “FOX Saturday Baseball” Telecasts, particularly with the Analyst, noted for some incredibly-IDIOTIC Observations.

I think that his name is Tim McCarver

Comment by Michael Leggett




Leave a Reply

