Miles From Fenway


Epstein’s Back: And I could care less about the reasons why
January 25, 2006, 2:38 pm
Filed under: Boston, Red Sox, sports

A line from Bob Ryan’s Globe column this morning stuck out to me:

“Whatever the title, Theo Epstein is back. Let the spin begin.”

You know what? I don’t think I will.

In the coming days and weeks the Boston and national media are all going to be analyzing the Red Sox Front Office. Why Theo left in the first place. Why he decided to come back. If he and Lucchino can really work effectively together. If there’s a power struggle. Blah blah blah blah blah.

This may sound naive and simplistic to say, but I really don’t care. Seriously, I could care less why he came back. I could care less if he and Larry have issues. In the statements released by the Red Sox yesterday almost everyone, Henry, Lucchino, Theo, all mentioned that disagreements happen. This kind of stuff goes on in corporate America all the time, with the notable exception that 99.9% of the companies in America are not under the same kind of media scrutiny that the Red Sox are.

So I’ll leave it at this: Welcome Back Theo. As a fan I feel a hell of a lot better with you around.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

@ last some sanity & stability!

Comment by Michael Leggett

Don’t think he ever actually really left since its believed that the Sox organization was consulting him about Damon the whole time.

Comment by Darren

Amen sista!

Comment by nacho

Be honest- you picked that picture cos Wakefield’s in the foreground.

Comment by BS Memorial

Michael: My thoughts exactly.

Dareen: I agree, it doesn’t appear he ever left completely, but I’m still glad he’s back on the payroll.

nacho: Thanks, babe!

BSM: I have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about 😉

Comment by FINY

agreed! too much over-thinking in the off-season is a) counter-productive, because, i mean, we can’t do anything about it and b) kind of a headache. although i love this team and was glad to see a sox-related post from you again.

Comment by LM

If he’s going to keep making trades like this, I wish he would have stayed away.

Comment by edmund dantes

I too am glad he is back officially. I am starting to feel a tad optimistic again.

The Crisp trade–fabulous!

Comment by Mr. Fabulous

Stupid blog spam.

Comment by FINY

Hey you… Hope all is well.

I am glad he is back, and so far the trades and moves are working in our favor (Gonzalez and Crisp).

Check your email yo. I sent you one.

Comment by Macca




Leave a Reply

