Miles From Fenway


And The Countdown Begins
October 31, 2006, 5:25 pm
Filed under: writing

A little under twelve hours from now, National Novel Writing Month begins. Over the past few weeks I have had debates about the various merits and down-sides of trying to write a novel this way, but none of them has stopped my enthusiasm. I’m pumped. No really. I am.

Ok, and scared. How in the HELL am I supposed to write 50,000 words in 30 days?

What’s making me a bit more anxious is that I’ve decided to go a completely different way than I originally planned. I was going to resurrect my characters from last year’s attempt in an effort to see if I could get them to take me in another direction. But a few days ago I had a bit of an epiphany, scrapped the idea completely, and am now staring at pages of notes on this random storyline populated with characters I didn’t even know were in my head.

It’s going to be an interesting month.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yeah, but you’re creative and you rule. I’m quite sure you’ll do great! We get to read it right? :O)

Comment by Chief Slacker

We’ll see about that ;). Right now I decided that each day I’ll post my favorite sentence from that day’s writing session. But who knows about the whole thing.

And thanks for the vote of confidence.

Comment by FINY

Well done you. I don’t think that would work as the kick in the ass I need, but I totally need one. Arg.

Comment by Amy

Amy! You’ve got a blog! Did you find mine through myspace?

As for the kick in the ass … yeah I need one too, and I am really hoping this is it. Fingers crossed!

Comment by FINY

Ayup. MySpace is the devil, yet I just. can’t. stop.

Good luck!

Comment by Amy

My wife did it a few years back, she spent a lot of her free time writing but to her credit, she did get 50,000 words done.

Comment by Darren




Leave a Reply

