Miles From Fenway


More Reader Participation
January 16, 2007, 9:50 pm
Filed under: misc., Unemployment

As a follow up to my last post, I have found a few things that are keeping me elevated. Finding a job to apply to that I’m not only qualified for but that excites me. Cleaning my apartment and reorganizing my life (though after two weeks, there’s very little left to do to be honest). My walks in Prospect Park.

But I think one of the best mood elevators I’ve found thus far has been music. I’ve always been one of those people who, when sad, turns to Tori. When pissed, turns to Alanis. Anything that I can belt out in the privacy of my own apartment. There’s something cathartic about it. The pent up saddness or aggression leaves my body on the air leaving my lungs.

These days, I’m finding that cheesy, upbeat, my-god-I-can’t-believe-she-even-listens-to-that-shit, songs are keeping me sane. The current playlist is below. Now here’s where you come in … what else should be added? And please, no mocking the list. I know it’s crap, but damnit, I like it!

Surrounded – Chantal Kreviazuk
Takes a Little Time – Amy Grant
With Arms Wide Open – Creed
Don’t Let Me Get Me – Pink
Closer to Free – BoDeans
Life Is a Highway – Tom Cochrane
I’m Like a Bird – Nelly Furtado
Hold On – Wilson Phillips
Sunny Came Home – Shawn Colvin
Steal My Sunshine – Len
She’s so High – Tal Bachman
I Don’t Wanna Be – Gavin DeGraw
Catch My Disease – Ben Lee
Soak Up the Sun – Sheryl Crow
Bitch – Meredith Brooks
Hey Jealousy – Gin Blossoms
Walking In Memphis – Marc Cohn
Take Me Out – Franz Ferdinand
Calling All Angels – Train
Wide Open Spaces – Dixie Chicks
Save Tonight – Eagle-Eye Cherry
The Freshmen – The Verve Pipe
Alive – Pearl Jam
Closing Time – Semisonic
Everything Falls Apart – Dog’s Eye View
You Get What You Give – New Radicals
Babylon – David Gray
Don’t Stop – Fleetwood Mac
All Star – Smash Mouth
Ready to Run – Dixie Chicks
Stronger – Britney Spears
Better Man – Pearl Jam
Higher – Creed
Drive – Incubus
Drops of Jupiter – Train
Black Balloon – Goo Goo Dolls
Brand New Day – Sting
I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For – U2
Brass In Pocket – The Pretenders
You Gotta Be – Des’ree
Barely Breathing – Duncan Sheik
Vertigo (Single) – U2
Unwell – Matchbox Twenty
Breathe – Michelle Branch
Counting Blue Cars – Dishwalla
Bittersweet Symphony – The Verve

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Kim,

I am usually pretty good at predictions and so take this and run with it. We will be celebrating something come Winter Summit and it aint going to be the 14th day running of Groundhogs Day!!

I read through your list and I will admit that I listened to many of those songs during my 5 months of unemployment.

Best of Luck

FLom

Comment by Chicagoboy21

Hey my wife constantly makes fun of me for my music, what No Blind Melon, no Van Halen, no Matthew Sweet, no Hootie.

Comment by Ari

Cheesy as it is, Since You’ve Been Gone and Because of You – Kelly Clarkson. And you know I always listen to Billy Joel and Josh Groban.

It WILL get better.

Comment by Esther

“walking in memphis” = upbeat? that one seems to embody melancholy, for me at least.

rilo kiley’s “with arms outstretched” – if you don’t have it, get it, stat. ditto for “o-o-h child” by the five stairsteps.

come to think of it, get all the rilo kiley you can get your hands on. both albums: “more adventurous” and “the execution of all things.” pay full price if you must – they are SO worth it.

hang in, woman, you’ll get it figured out.

Comment by kate.d.

“For No One”, by the Beatles.

Comment by Shawn

Also, after reading your previous post now, “My Brave Face”, by Paul McCartney.

Comment by Shawn

I never knew that Ben Lee sang Catch My Disease, I’d been wondering for ages but always forgot to look it up!

Comment by Meredith

I am totally aghast at your list!! no Dee-Lite??? surely you must have SOME groove in the heart???

other than that small missing song, I dig the list. hang in there, momma!

Comment by Carrie




Leave a Reply

