Miles From Fenway


Starting the Day with a Smile
March 7, 2008, 8:36 pm
Filed under: misc., music, NYC

I’ll be honest, I haven’t been in the best of moods lately. I’ve been working almost constantly with no end in sight, I haven’t been sleeping well, I’ve just been sort of … I don’t know … blah. It’s not to say that I haven’t had some great nights out the last few weeks, or that I haven’t had any stories to tell around here, I just quite simply haven’t been up to it.

But this morning – for no particular reason other than I was fast asleep by 9:45 last night – I woke up with a smile on my face. It was a smile that persisted through my commute. As I stood on the 4 train, with Gomez flowing through my ear buds, I kept smiling at random moments. I’d be subtly mouthing the words to the songs and not realize it. Well, I didn’t realize it until a man sitting in front of me caught my eye and smiled. I was a little embarrassed then, but that didn’t stop it from happening again just a few minutes later.

As the guy got up to get off the train a few stops later and I moved in to take his seat, he looked me straight in the eye and said ” It was so nice to see someone in a good mood on the train. Thanks for starting my day off with a smile – have a good one.”

I rocked out a little bit harder to the music after that.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sorry to hear you haven’t been in a great mood lately. I haven’t either, though mostly due to illness that just.won’t.go.away.

Comment by Esther

Cool Finy! Always nice to know you can make someone else’s day better. You’ll make it through the work. Baseball season is almost here!

Comment by Edward

hey momma.. just checking in on you; hope your summer is off to a good start and your spirits are a little higher since your last post.

xxoo!!

Comment by Carrie




Leave a Reply

