Miles From Fenway


Alone Time
July 24, 2008, 11:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I forgot how nice it can be to just sit and be silent. People watch. Read a book. Walk around your apartment in your underwear.

For the last few months, alone time has been tough to come by. That was never more true that during Eddypolusa, where even when sleeping you were with at least 10 other people. So last night I took the opportunity to go to dinner by myself. I had forgotten how much fun it can be. Eavesdropping on other people’s conversations (though I came dangerously close to jumping into the Project Runway talk the couple sitting next to me was having), enjoying some good thai food. Of course that was before running off to meet friends for drinks, but I’ll take my alone time where I can get it.

Tonight was spent reading in the park until it got too dark to see, and then polishing off the rest of the book in my overstuffed arm chair. I haven’t uttered a word in hours.

When I was a kid, my mom called it my “alone time”. She knew when I needed it, could tell when my mood turned sour that I’d been over stimulated. Now I can see it in myself. I get cranky. Little things annoy me. I came within inches of yelling at a woman yesterday morning on a crowded 4 train for popping her gum in my ear for 5 stops.

So these two nights of semi-solitude were just what the doctor ordered before a few more weeks of controlled chaos. Tomorrow I head for Rhode Island where I’ll pick up my brother for Saturday’s Sox v. Yanks game at Fenway – continuing a tradition of us attending a game together the weekend of our birthdays (his is the 23rd, mine the 27th). That will be followed by birthday drinks Saturday night, birthday brunch back in RI with the fam on Sunday, more birthday drinks on Wednesday in NYC, and potentially yet another birthday shin dig earlier in the week with a couple of my girlfriends who can’t attend any of the others.

I’m savoring the rest of my night – it looks like the last bit of alone time I’ll get for a while.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey happy birthday finy, Enjoy the weekend in Rhode/Boston and say hello to the bug.

Comment by Ari

Hope you had a great birthday, FINY.

I’m discovering that the older I get, the more necessary alone time is. There’s definitely something to be said for recharging the batteries.

Comment by East Coast Teacher

I never really thought much about the peace and quite and alone time till I made a friend who has the worst case fo motor mouth ever. Over an hour of uninterupted blather should just not happen.

Mmmm, peace and quiet…

Comment by Chief Slacker




Leave a Reply

