Miles From Fenway


Welcome to the Majors, Charlie
August 12, 2008, 10:05 pm
Filed under: baseball, Red Sox, sports

I’ve been a few days behind in terms of MLB news lately, so it came as a shock today when I saw that Tim Wakefield had been placed on the disabled list and that Charlie Zink was to fill in tonight. It was an odd mix of emotions for a moment. Those of you who have read for any amount of time already know that Wakefield is my guy. So to see him on the DL, especially with the standings the way the teams pitching woes these days, was a bit disturbing.

But then there was the excitement of Zink’s first major league start. I’ve loosely followed him for years as he yo-yoed between Portland and Pawtucket. He’s inconsistent, but what can I say, I’ve got a soft spot for the knuckleballers. They fascinate me. So I was excited when I got home from a meeting tonight to see he had allowed only 2 runs in 3 innings. Hungry and having just gotten home, I settled in, made some pasta, refreshed my screen and BAM … suddenly it was 8 runs. Oops. Well, that didn’t go as well as you’d probably hoped Charlie, but hey, at least the Sox are still winning. I mean, after a 10 run first inning, you have to figure they can pull this one out right?

Oh wait, as I write this it’s now 16-14 Texas. The Sox have now used 5 pitchers. This season is starting to get really frustrating.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

SO glad to see you posting again!!! sorry it took me this long to pop over.. had I known I would have come sooner.

anyways.. just wanted to say welcome back!!
xxoo

Comment by CzeJohnson Carrie

Aren’t new pitchers fun? heh. I get a WHOLE ROTATION of them to frustrate me. One week it’s a 1 run 4 hit 6 inning game, next week it’s 8 runs on 9 hits. Gotta love having the most “veteran” starting pitcher have like two years of big league experience. Go Twins! hehe.

Comment by Chief Slacker




Leave a Reply

